Surfers Shorely “WOW” Me Sometimes!

Welcome back web surfers! 😉

      Today I have a story that will blow you away!  Thanks to some of my followers who were nice enough to email me stories that might catch my interests, I stumbled across a post about a group of surfers who saved a baby great white shark! That’s right, I said it: SAVED A SHARK’S LIFE!

      A few days ago, a 7-foot baby shark was found washed ashore on Venice Beach, Los Angelos, California.  The not-so-Great White shark had a hook gauged in its mouth – the unfortunate results of fishing in these highly populated areas of the California coast.   Luckily, the surfers who found the shark weren’t as ignorant as some people, like this man, and dove into the action head first.  The men unhooked the baby and safely dragged it back into the ocean where it was able to make its way back into deeper water and out of harms way.  It is still unknown, and will remain unknown, whether or not the baby survived.  However, this brave act did not go unnoticed and was greatly appreciated by all who wish to improve the reputation of the human-shark relationship!

     This clip shows you what actually happened that day and the live rescue of the baby!  As the previous website advised me, I shall do the same for you!  Turn down the sound because the woman narrating the events might make you want to put a hook through your lip by the end of it…

The surfers’ bravery was summarized as such by the article:

“Great Whites have become legendary for their size — some have grown as large as 20 feet in length and weigh more than 5,000 pounds. Despite what you might have read in Peter Benchley’s best-selling novel “Jaws” and Steven Spielberg’s hit 1975 movie, the Great White would rather not eat humans.

While it’s not yet known if the baby great shark survived, the fearsome fish was certainly helped by these kind humans.”

Fear is not uncommon for these amazing creatures.  And I am sure that if I were paddling out for a midday surf by Venice pier and came across a shark (even though that are my favorite fintastic friends) I would be terrified just because of the omnipotent ways and occasional tendency to accidentally nibble on humans.  However, these surfers realized that life is more important than revenge, and no life is more important than another.  So tip your hats to the men who set the shark standard! I applaud you!

      Luckily, these fellow fin lovers are not the only soul surfers out there who care about sharks.  In fact, today I also want to advise all of my followers to watch easily the most incredible shark documentary I have ever seen: Sharkwater! (A link to this website can also be found in my favorite links, because that’s what it is! My FAVORITE LINK!)  This 2007 documentary follows the path of destruction that humans have created in relevance to the innocent lives of sharks all over the world.  

      Filmmaker Rob Stewart takes a journey into the deep to attempt to put a stop to shark stereotypes by confronting those who create them head on!  

“In an effort to protect sharks, Stewart teams up with renegade conservationist Paul Watson of the Sea Shepherd Conservation Society. Their unbelievable adventure together starts with a battle between the Sea Shepherd and shark poachers in Guatemala, resulting in pirate boat rammings, gunboat chases, mafia espionage, corrupt court systems and attempted murder charges, forcing them to flee for their lives.”

Not only is this film action packed, but it also uses incredible video to capture the beauty that lies beneath the surface all to well.  I would fins down say that this film has the most incredible shark footage that I have ever seen (and I watch A LOT of Shark Week)!  I do warn you though, this is a documentary and I could not help but shed a few tears as I watched real sharks being mangled and mutilated by men who could not have cared less.  But I also think that that is part of the beauty and brilliance behind it.  It shows what truly happens to these creatures and how terrible it is!  So there, you’ve heard it o-fish-ally from me!  

      People everywhere are trying to help out my friends! Now it’s your turn! For some super swell links to how you can help out you can visit the SharkWater page, or check out some the awesome links that I have favorited for you! I know that you won’t regret helping out! The surfers’ in Venice didn’t seem to mind too much! 🙂

    Just keep Swimming,

Great White Teenager!

Leave a Reply

